White Trash Potatoes

I first ate this dish probably 15-20 years ago.  There are many, many variations on the recipe–this is just my go-to version.

It’s pretty midwestern (I think you will see why when you look at the ingredients).  One of the good things about that is that you can procure the ingredients even in the dead of winter.

It is not really called “White Trash Potatoes” by most people.  That name came about when I made it for a group of my new neighbors, all native Californians.  When one of them heard what was in it, he asked me in all seriousness if I was “poor white trash”.

Well, yes.  Yes I am.  What of it?

He still ate the taters.  Just sayin’.

White Trash Potatoes

1 bag frozen southern-style hash browns

1 can cream of chicken soup (I use low sodium)

1 cup sour cream (I use light)

I cup chopped onion

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese (reserve about 1/2 cup or so for topping the casserole)

Salt and pepper to taste

Let the hashbrowns thaw on the counter for about a half-hour or so.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl, except the reserved cheese.  Pour into a 13X9 baking dish that you have sprayed with non-stick spray.  Make sure the surface is even, sprinkle the reserved cheese.  Bake for about an hour in the 350 oven.

Enjoy! Watch how much the fancy people at the table enjoy it.  But lets don’t call them names, okay?

8 responses to “White Trash Potatoes

  1. Yum! I have a similar WT recipe but it uses mayo and bacon! I could write pages on bacon alone….

  2. Yay, for the new blog! This recipe reminds of me of what came up when I googled copycat recipes for Cracker Barrel’s hashbrown casserole.

    Dave proudly claims the “poor white trash” title, too. Still, I can’t believe that someone would actually ask you that.

  3. Yum! My MIL makes this for special occasions (minus the cheese) and we all love it. Guess I know what that says about us. Guess I can live with that.

  4. Great recipe and I am drooling. Could it be made non-dairy for the lactose challenged, d’ya think?

  5. Sara, my family makes that version, too. With Miracle Whip.

    Kim, Dave and are that dangerous combo of “white trash with masters degrees”!

    LJ, I don’t know how you would de-dairy it. 😦

    Zorra, clearly fancy people like it, too!

  6. i’m with kim on disbelief that someone would ask you that… in p.c. california (marin county, right?) of all places… aie… classism.

    in any case, looks yummy.

  7. We call these Funeral Potatoes, because it’s a classic dish to “take over to the family.” Also goes great with the Standard Funeral Meat: sliced ham.

    Overeducated white trash, unite!

  8. try mixing corn flakes with melted butter.. topping it on this and baking for about 10-15 more min. even more “trashy” and YUMMY

Leave a Reply

