I really do cook. And eat.

Holy cow!  I went and ignored this thing for a month???

But now I’m back, better late than never as they say.

I decided I would list my favorite ingredients, my favorite things to cook or include in dishes (in no particular order):

  • Lemons
  • Garlic
  • Shallots
  • Fennel (bulb, not seed)
  • Wild caught salmon. NEVER the farmed stuff, even if it means I only eat salmon a couple of times a year.
  • Israeli couscous
  • Greek yogurt
  • Fresh thyme
  • Home grown tomatoes
  • Bacon
  • Red onions
  • Olives
  • Ponzu sauce
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Butter lettuce
  • Beets
  • Fresh mint
  • Butter
  • Feta cheese
  • Kosher salt
  • Raspberries
  • Puff pastry
  • Agave nectar
  • San Marzano canned tomatoes
  • Whole wheat pasta
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Whole peppercorns
  • Cannelini beans
  • Quinoa
  • Red potatoes
  • Cilantro

With a few notable and unavoidable exceptions, I keep almost all of these on hand all the time, plus some basic proteins, like chicken, pork tenderloin, occasionally beef.  This allows me to make a pretty simple and substantial dinner fairly consistently.

What are your must haves?  Are there ingredients you seem to reach for, over and over?

2 responses to “I really do cook. And eat.

  1. Another Beet Lover! I knew there was something special about you!
    We have remarkably similar lists, though I would replace the Greek Yogurt with Parmigiana Reg. and the whole wheat pasta (which I still find too gummy) with Trader Joe’s fresh pasta offerings. I would also add Penzey’s various cinnamons and crystalized ginger.

    Oh, and I’ve never figured out a way to make Quinoa that I find interesting enough. What do you do with it?

    • I use it for Tabbouleh–or at least I have this summer. I’m going to be on the lookout for new fall/winter quinoa recipes soon. I’m thinking that just about any recipe calling for rice would work, eh?

      Yay, another beet lover! It is such an unnecessarily maligned vegetable.

Leave a Reply

