Its all Greek to me…

I made  a pot of my new favorite soup today, to celebrate Fall.

I love to make soup.  My favorites are:

Chili, Chicken and White Bean Chili, Minestrone, Chicken Noodle, Vegetable Beef, Broccoli and Cheese, Potato,  White Bean and Sausage.

But my very new favorite is Avgolemono made with lemon, chicken, and rice. It is very delicious, fairly simple (although it involves a couple of steps) and does not require exotic ingredients–at least nothing more exotic than white pepper and lemons.  If you want to make a vegetarian version of this, use vegetable stock or soup base for the chicken soup base, and leave out the pieces of actual chicken.  As this recipe is egg-based, I don’t think there is a way to make it vegan.  This is so velvety and smooth, you will swear it is cream-based, but it is not.

Avgolemono

In a stock pot, combine:

10 Cups water

6T of chicken soup base or granulated boullion

1/2 large onion, finely chopped

2 carrots, grated (I do mine on the box grater)

1/2 t white pepper

Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer (also known as BTBRTS in the foodie world).  Simmer for 20 minutes.  In the meantime…

Blend 8 egg yolks in the blender until light yellow in color. Carefully and slowly add about 2 cups of the soup mixture to the blender while it is on a slow speed.  This is to temper the eggs.  If you don’t do this step you will end up with scrambled egges in the soup. I learned this one the hard way.

Combine 1/4 C melted butter and 1/4 C flour until very smooth.  Add the butter/flour mixture slowly to the soup, stirring constantly to avoid lumps.  Then slowly add the egg mixture, stirring constantly.

Add 1.5 Cups rice and 1.5 Cups chopped chicken. This is a great way to use leftover rice or chicken.  I have to be honest–I didn’t measure the chicken.  I just poached a very large chicken breast, and then shredded it.

Delish!

One response to “Its all Greek to me…

Leave a Reply

